How To Turn Off Instagram’s Activity Status In 3 Steps
The new “Show Activity Status” option is enabled by default inside of Instagram’s settings. You can choose to toggle it off if you don’t think anyone really needs to be that up-to-date on what you’re doing. But if you disable activity status for yourself, you won’t be able to see that info for anyone else.
To be very clear, your followers cannot see when you were most recently on Instagram. Only people you follow or have previously DM’d will see how many minutes or hours ago you were scrolling through your feed. Some of our followers simply show as having been “active today,” but on the flip side, it does get specific enough to display “active now” when you’re using the app at that precise moment. Again, if you don’t like people knowing this sort of thing, turn off the feature in settings.
To see the new activity statuses, all you have to do is go into your direct messages.
Look for the little timestamp that shows the last time someone you’ve chatted with has used Instagram. The times are quite granular; you can see up to the minute or hour when some signed on most recently, while people currently on Instagram are simply labeled as “Active Now.” The update started rolling out yesterday for both Android and iOS users.
Follow these 3 easy steps:
Step 1: If you want to disable this feature, here is what you need to do to disable it. First, go into Instagram’s settings menu.
Step 2: Scroll down a bit until you see “Show Activity Status.”
Step 3: Tap the toggle next to it to disable the feature.
If you choose to hide your activity status, there’s one catch: You won’t be able to see your friends’ activity statuses. Fair’s fair I guess, because why should you be able to snoop on others if you don’t want people snooping on you.